Newton Conservators logo Nahanton Park

Awards Presented at 2008 Annual Meeting

Environmentalists of the Year: Ted Kuklinski, Harvey Epstein, & Bill Shaevel

Charles Johnson Maynard Award: Eddy St./Cheesecake Brook CDBG Citizen Group: Chair Charles Wagner

Directors' Awards: Marc Welch & Anne Pearson


Environmentalists of the Year:
Ted Kuklinski, Harvey Epstein, & Bill Shaevel

The text of President Hagar’s award at the annual meeting follows:

“Ted Kuklinski, Harvey Epstein, and Bill Shaevel are awarded our 2008 Environmentalist of the Year award for their activities with three major happenings in the City: (1) preservation of additional open space at Dolan Pond, (2) preservation of a historical house, and (3) the first Habitat for Humanity buildings in Newton. It was a cooperative effort including input from several public and private sources in cooperation with the Newton Conservators. Each of you played a major role in this happening: Ted Kuklinski for your extraordinary interest in the environment and your ability to make things happen in Newton; Harvey Epstein for your work as Special Projects Coordinator for the Newton Housing Authority, where you helped coordinate the buildings; and Bill Shaevel, for your superb legal advice and assistance with numerous tasks for the Conservators, including the recent transfer of property at 76 Webster Park and the Habitat for Humanity. None of this could have been accomplished without all of your skillful and tireless efforts.

“We remember the groundbreaking ceremonies that had all of the participants beginning the process for the building of the Habitat duplex. It was a central event in Newton that was attended by nearly one hundred residents and supporters. The sound of a Scarlet Tanager from Ted’s tape recorder enlivened the morning activity. It was a wonderful day for the Newton community as it was the first Habitat for Humanity building in Newton.”

This was the 27th Environmentalist of the Year Award presented by the Newton Conservators to an individual or group who has made a distinguished environmental contribution to our community.


Charles Johnson Maynard Award:
Eddy St. /Cheesecake Brook CDBG Citizen Group: Chair Charles Wagner

The Charles Johnson Maynard Award is given each year to recognize efforts to improve biodiversity, habitat reclamation, and natural resource protection.

Charles Wagner and the Cheesecake Brook/Eddy Street Project Committee were selected to receive the Charles Johnson Maynard Award for their efforts to improve and preserve Cheesecake Brook. The Board of Directors selected this project for the Charles Johnson Maynard Award for many special reasons. The major reason was the environmental interest of the group, and their energy and success in protecting this stream. Charles Maynard, a 19 th century resident of Newton, was an avid birder and naturalist. He lived near Cheesecake Brook on property now occupied in part by the Fessenden School. Maynard was a popular lecturer on nature and for 40 years taught classes in Newton on birding. The banks of Cheesecake Brook would have been well-known to Maynard, and we believe he would have heartily approved of the project which you and your committee have shepherded through the long CDBG process.

Directors' Awards: Marc Welch & Anne Pearson

Marc Welch was selected for his work on numerous levels that has kept Newton as green as possible with a careful selection of trees and overall maintenance of flora in general. You helped convert Newton’s Forestry Department to a GIS based tree management system with cooperative overlap with the City’s GIS efforts. Throughout all these activities, Marc worked long days and even came in on weekends to run pruning sessions, or deal with pressing tree issues. Marc has a natural talent for converting complainers into allies and a talent for stretching ever-diminishing budget dollars.  He has helped us with checking the status of vegetation on the city-owned stretch of land adjacent to our Dexter Road property, and also helped us by removing damaged trees in that area. The Conservator members find you to be a great pleasure to work with and the City is very lucky to have you in your current position.

Anne Pearson was selected for a Directors’ Award for her interest in the environment, her knowledge of environmental activities, her work on the Grants Committee, and her tireless efforts in maintaining our membership lists. Anne has been an essential member of the Newton Conservators’ Board of Directors for a long time. Her knowledge of the environmental area and computer networks helped make the conservators a major environmental group in Massachusetts. Your fellow Conservators find you to be a great pleasure to work with and we wish you well in all your future endeavors- hoping that you will still participate in some of our events with your grandchildren.

Send us an email
Top of Page
   Copyright © 2003-2018 Newton Conservators, Inc.